The Sunday Salon: A Late-November Interlude

20111120-154538.jpg

Today has already proved to be quite the dreary, cold, blustery day, and to be honest I can’t think of an environment more friendly to a day of solid reading! I’m so woefully far behind on my Goodread’s classics bookclub’s reading of Swann’s Way by Proust that I think I’m just going to have to throw in the towel on this go-round and add it to the list of classics I’m planning on reading in 2012. The book is beautiful and sweeping, but my interest and attention span just don’t seem to be on board with reading it right now.

20111120-155250.jpg

While I’m not exactly succeeding with Swann’s Way, I’m actually cruising along at a rather surprising pace through Ken Follet’s The Pillars of the Earth. The sprawling story is, as might be expected, rather operatic and soap opera-esque but for some reason it’s working for me at the moment. I don’t necessarily understand much of the cathedral construction terminology, but the opportunity to get lost in the sprawling kingdoms and political intrigue of the Middle Ages has been a rather wonderful distraction from the mundane task of mass job-applying that’s been on my plate lately. I’ve still got about 400 pages to go (it IS a 1000 page book, after all) but I’m hoping/excited to finish before I leave Wednesday for T-Givings. I’ll have a much more in-depth review later, but for now let me say that I adore Philip and Aliena and can’t stand the rapist William Hamleigh.

20111120-160059.jpg

As much as I’m loving Pillars of the Earth, I’m feeling like I need that extra little confidence boost of actually finishing a book, and as I’ve delayed my reading of Little Women until after the new year, I’ve decided to satisfy my classics craving with Bronte’s Jane Eyre (and a HUGE cup of coffee with caramel macchiato creamer, as you can see in the picture above). This is a re-read of one of my favorites, one I haven’t visited for the two years or so since my British literature survey course, and I’d almost forgotten how much I love dear Jane. I’m barely started – I just got to the part where John pulls Jane from behind the curtain in the study, and Jane is unfairly sent to the red room – and already I’m remembering my dire urge to punch Jane’s pseudo-siblings in the face! They’re such miserable little brats, and it just makes it that much easier to sympathize with Jane.

All in all, I’d have to call this one of the best reading Sundays I’ve had in quite some time, and I hope that whatever yours is stacking up just as well. Happy reading!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andi (Estella's Revenge)
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 03:00:47

    I was just talking to a co-worker the other day about Pillars of the Earth. He was recommending it as a chunkster that really flies, and I can get onboard with that.

    Reply

  2. Kailana
    Nov 22, 2011 @ 18:01:53

    I have Pillars of the Earth on my TBR pile. One of these days I am going to tackle it!

    Reply

  3. The Reader
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 20:33:08

    I absolutely loved Pillars of the Earth! In spite of its Tolkien-esque heft, I agree that it’s a very quick read. And what an incredible cast of characters! My personal favourite was Aliena one crisis comes after the next, and the girl bounces right back. I’ve always loved that in a heroine, ever since I read Jane Eyre, actually. Can’t wait to read your review!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

