Preparing the Best Way I Know How

I leave for Arizona for Alternative Winter Breaks shortly after the New Year, which means that my mom and dad and I are working hard (or, in my case, hardly working) to get me ready for the trip. My father’s version of “getting ready” consists of mapquesting the whole trip ten different ways, trying to figure out the fastest way to get there (he does this in spite of the fact that I’ve told him a thousand times that we already have maps and a way we HAVE to take) while my moms verison is pouring over the provided packing list and trying to squeeze everything she deems necessary in to the one duffle bag I get to take. My preparations, of course, are entirely literatre. It’s a sixteen hour car ride down AND back, not to mention there will be many a quiet night for desert reading – books are a vital component of the trip. And, although I’d love to review Revolutionary Road, I’m not quite done with it so instead I present: The Amazingly Interesting (Albiet Only To Me) List of Books I’m Taking to Arizona:

the-ruins

My mother claims that The Ruins is the scariest book she’s ever read, and my mother is quite the fan of horror novels, so thats making a rather ballsey claim. So when I saw it at Half Priced Books yesterday on the dollar rack, I had to go ahead and pick it up! She didn’t seem to excited about me reading this particular book while sleeping on the ground in a semi-remote desert camping location (her exact words: “Good luck not having the piss scared out of you) but I’m willing to give it a try.

pride-and-prejudice

In complete opposition to The Ruins, I’m bringing along my much-read, much-beloved Penguin copy of Pride and Prejudice. Not only am I due for another visit to Pemberley, but, as I mentioned in earlier posts, I’m taking a class on the life and works of Jane Austen next semester and, being the nerd that I am, there’s nothing quite as satisfying as getting a jump on future homework!

this-side-of-paradise

My good friend (and secret role-model) Jesi has been raving to me about this book for quite some time, and, having picked up the bug for Fitzgerald’s writing style after getting so lost in Richard Yates (not an exact replication, but Yates just put me in the mood for a more bare story telling style) I decided that it was time to pick up my own copy. Amory Blaine sounds like exactly the kind of character that I’ll fall head-over-heels in love with, so hopefully my fellow trip-goers won’t get TOO much of an earful about how in love with him I am.

heaven

My love for V.C. Andrews is not something that I’m usually very open about. As an avid reader, it’s rather like an experienced brandy drinker admitting to liking Bud Light every now and then. I read my first Andrew’s series when I was 13, the Landry series (Ruby, Pearl in the Mist, All That Glitters) and since then, all of her books really are like a security blanket, as predictable as the sunrise and sunset. Heaven is my favorite Andrew’s book, and will, hopefully, bring a little bit of comfort on those times when I get just a tad homesick.

There you have it. The four books lucky enough to make the cut on a trip when packing space is severely, severely limited. Between now and then lies New Years Eve, finishing (and hopefully reviewing) Revolutionary Road, and getting over whatever wicked head cold has crept on me. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

