BTT (A Little Late) and More to Come

I know, I know – its Friday.  But yesterday was the first day of classes, so what with having just moved in, catching up on what happened over break with all my roommates, trying to get the house cleaned, and going to my first full day, I wasn’t quite up on the blog scene. But here it is – Booking Through Thursday, albeit a little late!

btt2

But, enough about books … Other things have words, too, right? Like … songs!If you’re anything like me, there are songs that you love because of their lyrics; writers you admire because their songs have depth, meaning, or just a sheer playfulness that has nothing to do with the tunes.

So, today’s question?

  • What songs … either specific songs, or songs in general by a specific group or writer … have words that you love?
  • Why?
  • And … do the tunes that go with the fantastic lyrics live up to them?

You don’t have to restrict yourself to modern songsters, either … anyone who wants to pick Gilbert & Sullivan, for example, is just fine with me. Lerner & Loewe? Steven Sondheim? Barenaked Ladies? Fountains of Wayne? The Beatles? Anyone at all…

Alright, alright. I admit it. I’m a HUGE music collector. My current iTunes (and I still have some more importing to do after my last computer crashed) is at about 130 gigs, which is a LOT of music. I haven’t listened to all of it (I contribute the huge amount to an almost incurable collect-o-philia) but most of what I listen to falls in to the same general categories: folky-indie-alternative-acoustic stuff. And musicals. And the classics – The Temptations, the Beatles, the Stones, etc. I will say that I love pretty much all music, but my music tastes do all seem to have pretty powerful lyrics in common. I love music that tells a story, no matter what that story may be. I love “Like a Woman” by Bob Dylan because hes embodying a character in song. “Wish I Were the Moon” by Neko Case is the most beautiful expression of longing desire that I’ve possibly ever heard. And my current obsession, “Kick Drum” by G. Love and the Special Sauce is not only catching melodically, but also quite a funny song when you listen to the words. Its about a girl who wants to…please her man but can’t exactly figure out how. Risque! I think this love of story telling is also what draws me to musical and movie soundtracks, where the point is the TELL THE STORY! Love it!

So there you have it. This weeks BTT (on Friday). Tomorrow is a Saturday and thus there will be NOTHING to do *squeal* because the homework load hasn’t really picked up yet. And just to leave you all wanting more than you already do, tomorrows post will include: a review of This Side of Paradise, my thoughts on The Golden Compass, and mentions of both Shakespeare and Jane Austen! Hold on to your hats and happy reading!

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nymeth
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 19:27:14

    I like your taste in music 😀

    Reply

  2. bermudaonion
    Jan 21, 2009 @ 21:19:32

    I love the classics and am not that up-to-date on current music. I agree that Bob Dylan is a great writer, but his voice grates on me after a while.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

