So Much, So Much, So Much!

Alright. Brace yourself, kiddies. This post is going to be a doozy, but its basically just doing all those things I’ve been meaning to do for a while now. So bear with me, and I promise lots of pictures of lots of pretty books! Lets start with the Blog Improvement Project, shall we?

2009bip-150x210-copyThe next focus of the Blog Improvement Project is all about content – that grand pooh-bah of issues for the blogging world! This weeks task asks all those bloggers out there to focus on content, more specifically on brainstorming ideas for new content in order to make sure that you’re not getting bored as readers and I’m not getting bored as a blogger! I think its a great idea and, after quite a bit of deliberation, I’m ready to implement a new idea – perhaps not today, because this looks to be quite the lengthy post already, but sometime soon you can look forward to the OOTM (Obsession of The Moment) be it movies, books, fads, or anything else, it’ll be a space for me to blog about whatever has caught my attention outside of the book world (yes, I know, its hard to believe that there is a book outside of the book world, but it exists – I promise you!). What about you? Do you have any cool new up-and-coming aspects of your blog, or perhaps any old favorites that keep you entertained week after week?

Now lets move on to this weeks Library Loot, shall we?

library-loot

This week has brought us the following wonderful reads:

1559707356age-of-innocenceb0006q93ba01lzzzzzzzmansfield_cmyklrg-743634monique_frcoversenseandsens

* The Natashas: Inside the New Global Sex Trade by Victor Malarek: I’m getting in to it, and a full review will be coming soon!
* The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton: I’ve been told it’s a classic, but so far (and I’m about 14 chapters in) the story of Newland Archer and Countess Olenska just isn’t reeling me in like I’d like it to!
* Seventh Heaven: The Complete Second Season: I know, I know! It’s incurably dorky, but I just can’t help but love this show. It’s just the thing I need after a hard day in the cynical world.
* Mansfield Park: The BBC edition! Nobody does Austen like the BBC, and this is really no different!
* Monique and the Mango Rains: Two Years with a Midwife in Mali by Kris Holloway: This book is one for Eva’s World Citizen Challenge, and one that I can’t wait to read as soon as I’m done with The Natashas!

mailbox-mondayTold you it would be quite a bit to get through! And now on to Mailbox Monday (which, admittedly, is now being done on Wednesday, but so sue me!) This weeks mailbox was quite literally stuffed to the brim, but I’m never  going to complain about that!

For my Selected Authors: Jane Austen class:
23760 237631 9780141439808_mansfield north sense_and_sensibility 23764

I’d link to all those wonderfull books, but something tells me that many of you out there already own them, and if not, at least know what they are!

For my Transnational Migration class:
41shm1wcd6l_ss500_1411gg0hatpl tpoicvrm embracing-the-infidel transnationalbook

* The Age of Migration: International Population Movements in the Modern World by Stephen Castles and Mark J. Miller
* At Home in the World?: International Migration and Development in Contemporary Ghana and Western Africa edited by Takyiwaa Manuh
* The Politics of Immigration: Questions and Answers by Jane Guskin and David L. Wilson
* Embracing the Infidel: Stories of Muslim Migrants on the Journey West by Behzad Yaghmaian
* The Transnational Villagers by Peggy Levitt

And, lastly, for my Contemporary Authors of Short Fiction class:

51ec49je8xl 51wx7k1s9cl 417hang7y7l 3740-1 51545tm7azl 16186513 048628235x01_sx140_sclzzzzzzz_ 159017014801_sx140_sclzzzzzzz_ c5796 profhouse

* Tender is the Night by F. Scott Fitzgerald
* A Farewell to Arms by Ernest Hemingway
* The Short Stories of F. Scott Fitzgerald by F. Scott Fitzgerald, compiled by Matthew J. Bruccoli
* In Our Time by Ernest Hemingway
* The Sound and the Fury by William Faulkner
* Great Short Works by Willa Cather by Willa Cather
* Short Stories by Edith Wharton
* The Unpossessed by Tess Slesinger
* Collected Stories of William Faulkner by William Faulkner
* The Professor’s House by Willa Cather

And there you have it! The biggest book-getting week of my life, quite possibly, and all of the books above you can look forward to hearing more about in the future! If you use a feedreader, the formatting here may be better if you click over to the blog. Happy reading!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rebecca
    Jan 21, 2009 @ 23:20:25

    Wow. I am really interested in The Natashas. Ever since I saw a documentary on the sex slave trade in America, I have been interested in learning more about the “industry”, if you will. It is heartbreaking to know that this still goes on and right under our noses.

    I like your collection of books for the Contemporary Authors class. Have fun reading these!

    Reply

  2. bybee
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 10:18:08

    All those book covers make me drool. I have the same copy of Tender Is The Night.

    Reply

  3. Marcia
    Jan 24, 2009 @ 04:55:00

    Thank you for stopping by the ‘mailbox’ this week. Enjoy your books!

    Reply

  4. Matt
    Jan 25, 2009 @ 03:07:32

    I plan to redeem myself this year by reading more Fitzgerald. Tender is the Night will be on my list, but I’ve got The Great Gatsby lined up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

