The Sunday Salon – Making Headway

the-sunday-salon

This week, I’m unfortunately not as far along with the reading as I’d like to be! But I did recently (as of about ten minutes ago) finish Edith Wharton’s The Age of Innocence. It was a good read, but not as good as I would have liked it to be in the long run. I’ll have a full review tomorrow when I’m at work (yes. I post at work. I work at a library on campus, where I work uninterrupted four hour shifts and we have approximately three regular patrons. Ah, the joys of working at a departmental library). Also on the table currently is Sense and Sensibility as well as a collection of essays concerning transnational migration, a sociology class that I’m really, really in to right now. I’m also about to dive in to Monique and the Mango Rains which I picked up on my last trip to the library and which is one of my last few reads for Eva’s World Citizen challenge. So, basically, although I’ve finished the Wharton, I’ve still got a lot of headway to make with the other reading. It’s so frustrating to be so close to finishing so many great books!

The other main reading issue on the plate – reading at the gym. I know, I know. Not necessarily the most entertaining of topics, but its something I’ve found myself having to deal with more and more these days! I’m trying hard to do the whole ‘self-improvment’ thing (yay for New Years resolutions, for however long they last) but spending an hour a day at the gym means an hour a day that could be some prime reading time. But what to read? Everything on my list now is a little heavy, but is that okay? Can I sweat and run and climb away on a stairmaster while pounding away at Sense and Sensibility? Or should something lighter make the list? Some YA lit or perhaps even *gasp!* chick lit? What do you all think? Happy reading!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Eva
    Jan 26, 2009 @ 14:34:50

    I think Monique and the Mango Rains would be light enough for a work-out read. I can’t imagine S&S getting along well with a stairmaster, though. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

