Blog Improvement Project and My First Weekly Geek!

This week’s task for the Blog Improvement Project is all about mixing up the kind of post you write! I haven’t been blogging all that long, but I’ve already started to notice kind of a pattern I find myself falling in to. Not that the pattern is bad – there is familiarity in the regular, after all. But I do think it would be fun/interesting/wildly beneficial to go ahead and try new types of posts. The posts that Kim mentions are:

2009bip-150x210-copy

  1. A Link Post – share a series of links your readers might find interesting
  2. A Short Post – less than 200 words
  3. A List Post – simple as it sounds, a list of some sort
  4. An Opinion Post – take an event, news, or another blog post and share your opinion on it
  5. A Poll or Question Post – post a poll or ask your readers a specific question for feedback
  6. A How-To Post – You’re an expert in something; big or small, share how to do it
  7. A Long Post – more than 700 words
  8. A Review Post – self-explanatory, I think )
  9. A Definition Post – show your expertise about a topic related to your blog
  10. FREE SPACE – a type of post of your choice (that is not the same as one of the previous posts)

Now, the really cool idea here is that, as a blogger, its my job to try and post one of each type of post listed above (I think for my ‘free space’ I’m going to do a photo post, as photography is one of the things I really, really enjoy!) and then, at the end of the month, she’s holding a drawing! For each different post, a different entry! It should be really, really fun and I’m looking forward to creating all the different kinds of posts!

Since this week so far has been kind of slow, reading wise, I’m going to go ahead and post some maybe-not-so-bookish things, but things that I love anyway! First…

obsession-for-gm1It’s time for the Obsession of the Moment! This week, however, there are a couple of different things I just can’t seem to get enough of!

1.) lost-logo1 Yeah, that’s right. I’ve gotten involved. And, now that I’m involved, I can’t go back! I just can’t seem to quit! Recently at work, when I’ve just been sitting, realizing that there is NOTHING to do (and I do mean nothing. There is nothing to do where I work. I work in a departmental library, where the only “clients” I see are faculty requesting photocopies and students trying to find out where their class is) and so I decided to watch Lost. For those of you who watch regularly, you know how dangerously addicting this can be. For those of you who don’t watch – it can be dangerously addicting. I’m about half way through the second season (where the survivors from the tail meet the survivors from the front of the plane) and now actually look forward to work, as it gives me the next chance to watch a little more!

2.) stringdusters-7488661 These guys are my absolute FAVORITE band of the moment! They’re The Infamous Stringdusters. I just can’t get enough of them. They’re a bluegrass band from Nashville, Tennessee (which may just be my favorite state behind Louisiana, as it is home of both country, bluegrass, and even a bit of good ole’ fashioned soul) who have some of the best chops I’ve ever heard. I love all bluegrass music (look below at the Weekly Geek to find out what other kind of music I can’t help but love) and these guys are just the best I’ve found in a while. Please, please, please check them out – you won’t regret it!

3.) final-john1 John Krasinski! I’m sorry, I can’t help but love him! Not only as Jim on The Office (one of my favorite shows, not to mention I’d give almost anything to be the Pam to his Jim!) but just as a human being in general. He’s cute. He’s funny. He’s intelligent. And he’s totally unattainable, but I’d settle for someone even half his counterpart! Now, don’t get me wrong. I love my guy, but he’s just no Jim. And yes, he knows that. And I know I’m not his Pam. But everyone has to have a fantasy!

And those are my current obsessions! I hope that you can take some time to enjoy some similar obsessions! And lastly, on to my first ever Weekly Geek!

wg3 This week’s Weekly Geek asks:

#1. What are you passionate about besides reading and blogging? For example, are you crafty (knitting, woodworking, scrapbooking, model building)? Do you cook? Into gaming (computer or board)? Sports (player or spectator)? Photography? Maybe you like geocaching, rock climbing? Or love attending events like renaissance fairs, concerts? Music? Dancing? You get the idea.

 

Tell us why you’re passionate about it. Post photos of what you’ve made or of yourself doing whatever it is you love doing.

 

#2. Get us involved. Link to tutorials, recipes, Youtube videos, websites, fan sites, etc, anything that will help us learn more about your interest or how to do your hobby. Maybe you’d like to link to another hobbyist whose work you admire or tell us about a book or magazine related to your interest.

I have to say that, other than reading and school (which, really, are just an extention of one another) there aren’t a lot of things I do very often. I wish that weren’t the case, but I just don’t have the time! There is one thing I always make time for, though, and thats music. Music is my passion. My love. Its something I can’t really do (I’m not inclined to make music) but I sure do enjoy it! There are hundreds of records, thousands of CDs, and probably millions of songs that have made me who I am today, and I’ve always been able to thank my parents for starting the love of music in me almost as young as they inspired my love of reading! I remember my mother singing me to sleep to Ella Fitzgerald and Dusty Springfield. My father always played The Beatles and The Allman Brothers Band in the car on the way to school. So perhaps the best way to sum up who I am is to give you a list of the Top Five albums that have helped me become who I am (you have no idea how difficult a list like this is for me! If you ask me tomorrow, the list will probably be entirely different, and these are just the classic albums, none of the current stuff!)

led_zeppelin11 1.) Led Zeppelin I: This album taught me everything I know about music. My father and I have often come to dissention about music, but never about this. As far as I’m concerned, Led Zeppelin IS the greatest band of all time. Jimmy Page, Robert Plant, John Bonham and John Paul Jones make the most gut wrenching, heart pounding and emotional music I’ve ever heard. Hands down.

“Spent my days with a woman unkind/smoke my stuff and drank/all my wine/ Made up my mind/ to make a new start/ going to California with an aching/ in my heart”

abbey_road12.) Abbey Road by The Beatles. No list would be complete without it. I’ve never met anyone who didn’t recognize the cover, or who couldn’t hum at least one song from the album. I know that, for a lot of people, The Beatles take the cake as the best musicians ever, and there is quite a lot to be said for what they did for music – they changed the scene, and came up the charts at a time when America was changing, Britian was changing, and the world was finally ready for a truly iconic band. This was the first album I ever bought for myself with my own money (first on tape, then on CD, and then on vinyl, as backwards as that sounds) and there isn’t a day that goes by without me listening to at least one song from it!

“Ah, ah/Because the world is round/it turns me on/because the wind is high/it blows my mind”

24374 3.) B.B. King Live at the Regal by B.B. King. This album is the cream of the crop for blues and soul. Needless to sing the praises of B.B. King himself, the sound quality on this album, especially for the times, is absolutely incredible. There is just such a passion to the music, let alone the actual lyrics themselves! King is one of the few musicians to ever make me cry by the power of his voice alone, and my grandfather used to sing B.B. King while he was working on his truck out back.

“I’ve been in love with you baby/yeah/You know I love you/I’ll do anything you tell me to/Yeah/You know I love you baby/and I’ll do anything you tell me to”

41479yb60gl 4.) Cream of Clapton by Eric Clapton. No one plays guitar like Clapton. No one. And no one puts as much of his own life in to his music. There is a lot to be said for solid musicianship accompanied by a real passion for making music. And thats what this man has. He’s still one of the greatest, but he never quite hit his stride like he did with Cream. “Sunshine of your Love”, “Layla”, “Wonderful Tonight” – there’s just no beating it. It’s a greatest hits album for a reason – its the one stop shop for all of your Clapton needs!

“It’s time to go home now/and I’ve got an aching head/so I give her the car keys/and she helps me to bed/and then I tell her/as I turn out the lights/I say ‘My darling/you were wonderful tonight'”

billie_holiday_jazz_classics__large15.) Lady Day: The Best of Billie Holiday by Billie Holiday. Billie Holiday is an artist whom I love purely and fully because of my mother. My mother and her first husband danced to Billie Holiday at their wedding and, when my sister and I turned 13, we both got copies of this album for our birthdays. There is something sad, something sensual, something absolutely addicting about Holiday. She’s old world – just listening to her takes me to a time that I’ve never actually known. Thats what my mother loved so much about it. My mother called it the ‘magic in the melody’. And thats what it is.

“Someday he’ll come along/the man I love/and he’ll be big and strong/the man I love/and when he comes my way/I’ll do my best to make him stay/he’ll look at me and smile/I’ll understand”

There you have it. A very long Weekly Geek! As per the last part of the Weekly Geek, , I’d love all of you to go check out Nymeth, who is another avid music lover whose tastes are very similar to mine! Happy reading!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Eva
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 09:46:26

    That’s one of my favourite pictures EVER of John Krasinski! When it was huge and in the GAP windows, my sister and I walked passed it in the mall. I said, “That’s John Krasinski, from The Office!” And she replied, “Oh! Now I understand why you love that show!” hehe Too adorable. 😀

    Reply

  2. Rebecca
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 15:52:24

    Oh my gosh, I LOVE your list of albums and artists here! The Beatles, Billie Holiday, Eric Clapton, Allman Brothers Band, all amazing!

    Reply

  3. Nymeth
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 21:47:19

    Thanks to you I’m addicted to Won’t Be Comin’ Back by The Infamous Stringsdusters. I’ve been streaming it over and over on myspace. I loooove banjos. You have great taste in music 😀

    Reply

  4. Kim
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 05:24:37

    I love John Krazinski. I love Jim too, I would give just about anything to be his Pam 🙂

    Reply

  5. mrthawatch
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 06:20:48

    Eric Clapton is my idol, i have some poster on wall
    in my bedroom.

    Reply

  6. soulbloggr
    May 20, 2009 @ 06:39:14

    I ove Billie Holiday. I think think is is such beautiful woman and a singer as well.

    Reply

  7. rachatcredits
    Sep 05, 2011 @ 18:09:52

    I’ll try it right away.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

