Seriously, It’s a Sickness

I made the foolish mistake today of google searching ‘reading challenge’ and found probably a bit more than I was prepared to handle! Having said that, however, this is my official second-round sign up posts for even more challenges! Hopefully, by this time next year, I’ll be able to post that I actually completed some of these many, many challenges! Each challenge below has my anticipated reading list for that challenge, when applicable. 2010 is shaping up to be an even busier reading year than 2009 was!

1.) A Tree Grows in Brooklyn – Betty Smith
2.) Anne of Green Gables – L.M. Montgomery
3.) Lolita – Vladimir Nabokov
4.) Little Women – Louise May Alcott
5.) The Awakening – Kate Chopin
6.) The Hours – Michael Cunningham

I don’t have a list of anticipated books because this is one of the ones where I’m going to pick the books as they come, but I’m hoping to participate at the Rory level and knock another 20 books off that overwhelmingly long list of books that Rory manages to knock out!

1.) Unlikely Hero by Sean Michael
2.) The Sixth Form: A Novel by Tom Dolby
3.) Beautiful Losers by Leonard Cohen
4.) Kiss of the Spider Woman by Manuel Puig
5.) The Line of Beauty by Alan Hollinghurst
6.) War Boy: A Novel by Keif Hillsbery
7.) Man Without a Face by Isabelle Holland
8.) Maurice by E.M. Forester
9.) The Swimming-Pool Library by Alan Hollinghurst
10.) At Swim, Two Boys by Jamie O’Neill

1930’s and earlier: Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
1940’s: A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith
1950’s: The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
1960’s: The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton
1970’s: Go Ask Alice by Anonymous
1980’s: Weetzie Bat by Francesca Lia Block
1990’s: The Giver by Lois Lowry
2000’s: Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli

Again, you can feel free to check out my challenge page, where you’ll find links to individual pages for each of these challenges if you want more information, and hopefully I’ll be counting some of you amongst my fellow challenge participants! Happy reading!

BookMaven

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elizabeth
    Jan 03, 2010 @ 23:25:56

    I’m glad to have you joining us in the 451 Challenge. I’ll be looking forward to reading your thoughts about the books you’ve chosen. =)

    Reply

  2. Andi
    Jan 04, 2010 @ 23:08:44

    Look at you go! Good luck with them all!

    Reply

  3. Ms Yingling
    Jan 13, 2010 @ 11:37:11

    Good for you. I’ve given up challenges, because I always sign up and forget that I have!

    Reply

  4. Whitney
    Jan 23, 2010 @ 22:38:34

    Thanks for signing up for the YA Through the Decades challenge! Great list, I’ll probably also be reading The Giver and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

