BTT – Holiday Recieving

Barbara wants to know:
What books did you get for Christmas (or whichever holiday you may have celebrated last month)?
Do you usually ask for books on gift-giving occasions or do you prefer to buy them yourself?

This Christmas was relatively light on the book-receiving front, having been given only a book of the collected works of W.H. Auden by my grandmother (which was, wonderfully enough, something I asked for!). But, on the plus side, I did go to visit my sister in Chicago, which means I got back a great number of the books I’ve loaned her over the year – so, in a way, I got almost seven books this year, but six of them were already mine! Although, now that I have those back, I can’t wait to give Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See an0ther read!

Usually, when it comes to gift-giving holidays, I’ll just ask for a gift card to Borders, B&N, Half Price Books, or, if I’m feeling really greedy, to the local bookstore The Raven. This isn’t because I don’t trust the lovely people kind enough to give me gifts (although, to be honest, I really wouldn’t trust some of them to get me good books, which is a key distinction) but rather because every year, without fail, when my mom asks me the dreaded question “what do you want for Christmas”, my mind will go blank and completely freeze up – even if I’ve got a list of books a mile long! I trap myself in a conundrum – I don’t want to ask my folks to spend money on a book I haven’t read, and therefore may not like, but asking them to pay for a book I’ve already read seems like a smidge of a waste of their money. So I’d much prefer to take my time, look through the books I’d like for myself, and then head to the bookstore armed with that little plastic square of love! Plus, having my own say means a choice in the cover art! Happy reading!

BookMaven

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan B. Evans
    Jan 07, 2010 @ 19:47:38

    I love getting gift cards to bookstores 🙂 I was a very lucky girl this Christmas! Here is my BTT response.

    Reply

  2. Jennifer
    Jan 07, 2010 @ 20:00:36

    Reply

  3. JLS Hall (Joy's Blog)
    Jan 07, 2010 @ 20:11:00

    I think book store gift cards are really the best gifts. But I love it when someone gives me a book, too. And if asked, I can almost always come up with a few titles I’m interested in.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

