BTT: Winter Olympics

You may have noticed–the Winter Olympics are going on. Is that affecting your reading time? Have you read any Olympics-themed books? What do you think about the Olympics in general? Here’s your chance to discuss!

My roommate and I, for a number of reasons, don’t have cable TV, which means that most of my involvement in the Olympics has to do with the score updates that the New York Times lists on it’s homepage! So, needless to say, it hasn’t really encroached on my reading time all that much! As far as Olympic-themed books, it truthfully never crossed my mind to look for a book centered on the Olympics, probably because every Winter Olympics my family and I do the hallowed and treasured movie-marathon of Miracle (about the 1980 US Olympic hockey team), the second Mighty Ducks movie (featuring the wonderful acting skills of one Mr. Emilio Estevez and Joshua Jackson at his pre-pubescent acting finest) and Cool Runnings because, let’s be honest, who doesn’t want to watch the world’s greatest movie about Jamaican bobsledders? However, even with these wonderful cinematic landmarks, I have to admit that I’m a much bigger fan of the Summer Olympics than the Winter Olympics. I like the unity-centered idea behind the Olympics in general, but come on, which would you rather see – buff guys in tiny swimsuits or buff guys in huge parkas? With the exception of Shawn White, there’s just more there in the Summer Olympics. But damn that Shawn White…

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer G.
    Feb 21, 2010 @ 03:18:40

    Every time I see him, I’m like, “I want his hair! It’s not fair that a man got that hair!”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

