Read-a-Thon: At the Starting Gate

Greetings, all! As I’m sure you’re all aware of by now, it’s almost time for  the 2010 Dewey’s Read-a-Thon! I’ll be hauling myself out of bed at 7:00 tomorrow to enjoy the early birds, the chill spring air, and a handful of YA books I’ve pulled from my bookshelves, as well as a number of other book’s I picked up from the library. Right now, although this list is obviously subject to change, the pool of books for me to choose from is as follows:

This Lullaby, Sarah Dessen
The Jessica Darling series, Megan McCafferty
Kingdoms of Elfin, Sylvia Townsend
My Name is Asher Lev, Chaim Potok
Hard Love, Ellen Wittlinger
The Haunting of Hill House, Shirley Jackson
The Fifth Child, Doris Lessing
The Phantom Tollbooth, Norton Juster
Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, Lewis Carroll

As well as anything else on my own shelves that I think looks like it deserves a re-read! My plan as of now is to read all day during the day as much as possible, but owing to the fact that I have gotten four hours of sleep in the last 48, as well as the fact that Boyfriend is getting in from out of town tonight (and wouldn’t take kindly to me depriving him of a welcome-back greeting) I most likely won’t be reading for the full 24 hours! My goal now is to be awake for 18 hours, reading for at least 12 of those, using the other six for things like cheerleading for other readers and feeding myself.

Now, as far as the location (which, lets be honest, is almost as important as the book list) I’ll be by Z’s Espresso when they open at 7, and then most likely off to Borders at about 11 or so, mostly to browse and prehaps even do a little bit of without-buying reading! Then, most likely, back to the apartment for eating, showering, commenting, and wrapping up the rest of the reading! Needless to say, I couldn’t be more excited for the day to begin – plus, the read-a-thon gives me an excuse to bail on an English department mixer that I’ve been dreading for days! Happy reading, and hopefully I’ll see most of you around tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

