Read-a-thon: 1:45 to 5:45 and some Mini-Challenges

So, I wish there was more to report for this latest block of time! I’ve just been plugging away at The Ruins which has finally gotten interesting enough to really hold my attention while at the same time being creepy enough to give sufficient chills up and down the spine. However, it is a 500 page book, so progress is definitely slow-going! For those who didn’t get the chance to read the book or see the movie, let me give you a basic premise: tourists outside Cancun stuck on a mountain with a thinking, carniverous plant that wants to kill them. Grossest part? The plant invades the cut of one of the people, growing inside him (which is accompanied by some truly vicious imagery). Even now it’s creeping me out! After this, it’s definitely going to need to be some light reading, so I’m thinking maybe the wonderful children’s classic The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster, which has been calling to me  from my bookshelves more and more as The Ruins has gotten creepier! And now for some mini-challenges!

Mini-Challenge 6: If The Cover Fits Mini-Challenge:

This is a really awesome mini-challenge featuring some of the great cover art that exists out there. And it was so much fun trying to think of the best books for each category!

DISTURBING

VIBRANT

BEAUTIFUL

SCARY

MOVING

Mini-Challenge 8: Reading is Fundamental Mini-Challenge

The challenge is to create a post celebrating the reading child and to link to the Reading is Fundamental webpage. This challenge asks bloggers to talk about how influential reading is, and the people who were influential to their early reading. As my entry in this challenge, I sent an email interview to my niece, who has just turned seven (and has been reading since she was three) and (with my sisters very patient and loving help!) she has emailed me back her answer to the question: why do you like reading? Why is reading important?

Reading is fun because I get to learn about things and can go anywhere. I can always have an adventure. Reading is important because it allows people to get smart and is fun. More people should read.

Yep, that’s right folks. That’s my niece – the apple really doesn’t fall far from the tree in our family! In addition, I also wanted to share a memory of my own young reading: reading in the bathtub. As unusual as this sounds, one of my favorite things to do when I was a child was climb into a dry bathtub with a pillow and big fluffy blanket with one of my mother’s scented candles and a few apples and read away for hours. Why the candle and the apples? Because that’s what Jo March always had with her when she was reading in the attic in Little Women, which was often my companion to these often late nights! Needless to say, I loved this challenge!

Happy reading, and hopefully I’ll have some more progress to report in a few hours!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nise'
    Apr 10, 2010 @ 23:56:35

    Great cover choices. Sarah has turned up a few times. Keep up the reading.

    Reply

  2. Kelly McClymer
    Apr 11, 2010 @ 01:51:17

    The Time Traveler’s Wife. I wish I had that one! Keep up the good reading!

    Kelly (aka Cheerleader)

    Reply

  3. Joy Renee
    Apr 11, 2010 @ 10:31:50

    your email interview with your niece broke me out in grins all over. at 3:30am aka hour 23!!

    thank her for me. She definitely has the RIF spirit as do you.

    Thanks for you entry and for sharing.

    re reading in the bathtub:as a child i used to read in the tub full of water when i was supposed to be taking my bath! I wish i would have realized then that a dry tub would make an excellent reading spot. i should have because our public library had a carpet lined claw-foot tub in the children’s library.

    read with joy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

