Read-a-Thon: 7 am to 9:30 am

Back again! I decided that trying to keep track of which hour it was was going to cause a lot more headaches for me than it’s worth, so I’m going to start tracking my reading by time chunks. What can I say, it’s just easier that way!

I have to admit, for a while there it looked like I was going to have to give up on the read-a-thon before it even started – I was just SO TIRED! But, I put The Ruins aside for a while and picked up Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck, realizing that perhaps all those people championing “read small books so you feel good about finishing them” maybe were on to something after all. I finished Of Mice and Men with no problem – not surprising when you realize that the book is barely over 100 pages long, not to mention the fact that I LOVE John Steinbeck and happen to think that Mice is one of his best works. A few comments on the book:

I forgot just how many conflicting feelings this book can raise. Just a few of the ones that ran through my head the last hour or so? Pity for George for being stuck with Leniey, pity for Lennie for being unable to help what he is, love for Lennie based on his sweetness and child mind, anger at Curly and Curly’s wife for being so damn confrontational and always doing their best to stir the pot, pity for Curly’s wife and for the fact that, in a way, she too is unable to help what she is (I can imagine myself going stir crazy if I was stuck on a farm all day with no one to talk to and a husband I didn’t like), and anger at the other men for being so…fair weather, on George’s side but never Lennie’s. But all of these conflicting emotions are what make the book so powerful, and contribute to 100 pages of what is plain prose with anything but plain meaning.

I’ll most likely go ahead and take a little bit of a cheerleading break, even though I’ve only gotten about 150 pages of reading done this morning (I got about 50 pages in to The Ruins before switching), before I go back either to Ruins (which is  a horror novel set in the Yucatan peninsula, and is supposed to be bat-shit horrifying, according to my mother (who would never ACTUALLY say that and, I believe, said something more along the lines of “quite frightening”) so I’m trying to save the scariest parts for  a little closer to night-fall) or switch to Chimanada Adichie’s Half of a Yellow Sun, which is not only a challenge book but also one that’s been sitting on my ‘checked out from the library shelf’ for way too long! Thanks to all the amazing cheerleaders out there who are doing SUCH GREAT WORK, and congrats to all the other readers who are reading and blogging about some absolutely amazing books! See you ’round the blogosphere, and happy reading!

Hours Read: 3
Pages Read: 160
Books Completed: 1
Cups of Coffee consumed: 0 (but, 1 delicious cup of vanilla chai tea!)
Cat-naps taken: 1
Best Book So Far: Of Mice and Men (although, as of now this is slightly unfair)
Worst Book So Far: —-

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nicole
    Apr 10, 2010 @ 15:00:08

    It is very good to concentrate on smaller books so that you have the sense of accomplishment. You can dip in and out of The Ruins or other bigger books. Good luck!

    Reply

  2. Beth F
    Apr 10, 2010 @ 15:25:27

    Spring Readathon go
    Great way to spend the minutes
    Lost in your novel

    Haiku #5 inspired by Dawn @ She Is Too Fond of Books

    Reply

Leave a Reply

