Read-a-thon: 9:30 to 1:45

Where has the day gone?! I feel like I’m not getting through my reading at the rate I’d like to be, but I’m starting to come to terms with the fact that maybe, just maybe, that’s okay! These past few hours I managed to get around to all the blogs on my blogroll who are participating in the read-a-thon, as well as a handful of the other readers participating. My goal is to comment on every participant’s blog once over the course of the -thon, and so far so good! It’s also been a blast participating in the mini-challenges, which I’ll do another round of here in just a little bit!

I managed to read another 50 or so pages of The Ruins and it’s just starting to pick enough that I was sad to put it down and am excited to be getting back to it – it’s been so long since I’ve read a truly scary book (thanks for the recommendation, momma, you were so totally right!) I also powered my way through Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist which was a MUCH better book than it was a movie. I found Michael Cera to be lacking anything but vanilla-boring, whereas the Nick in the book had a lot more sweetness and…well, depth to him, to be honest. However, I LOVE KAT DENNINGS and couldn’t get her out of my head while I was reading the book and it was just pretty much perfect. The only problem I had with reading the short book, however, was how culturally self-aware it was and just how hard it was trying to be a book that spoke to GenWhatever teens as opposed to actually just being that book. Maybe it’s one of those things you have to read to understand.

I’m planning on jumping right back in to The Ruins, perhaps taking out a couple hundred pages as opposed to just 50 at a time. Also, my trip to the library yesterday didn’t work out, and I’m far too comfy in my big chair to go now (you know, when you’ve got the pillows all schmushed right and the blanket covering your feet that perfect amount and finally have your cup of coffee balanced on your knee enough that even an earthquake couldn’t shake it) so I’m mostly just pulling books off my shelf for the reading. This means that, in addition to the Adichie book, I’ve also pulled Girl with a Pearl Earring by Tracy Chevalier, The Beach by Alex Garden, and Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood by Rebecca Wells. We’ll just have to see what the day brings! Happy reading!

Hours Read: 6.5
Pages Read: 387 (PITIFUL!)
Books Completed: 2 (Of Mice and Men, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist)
Cups of Coffee consumed: 2 (and 1 delicious cup of vanilla chai tea!)
Cat-naps taken: 1
Best Book So Far: Of Mice and Men (although, as of now this is slightly unfair)
Worst Book So Far: —-

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Darren @ Bart's Bookshelf
    Apr 10, 2010 @ 21:50:28

    You’re doing fantastic! Keep Reading! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

