Read-a-thon: Mini Challenge Bonanza 1

It’s time for mini-challenges! Because one of my big goals for this years read-a-thon is to spend most of the time in the BOOK and not the WEB, I’m most likely not going to do mini-challenges every hour, but rather wait and do a chunk every few hours (as many as possible, of course, depending on which mini-challenges are still open!) So, without further ado, here we go!

Mini-Challenge 1: The Kick-off of Champions

Miss Remmers over at Miss Remmers’ Review is hosting this mini-challenge, asking all of us participants what it was we had around us to start our marathon day. For me, this was rather easy, as the stuff I had was the stuff I always have whenever I sit down to do a large amount of reading:

That’s right. I’m doing all of my reading from my big, blue, squishy armchair that I purchased at the Salvation Army, accompanied by a large cup of coffee (and by large I mean HUGE – my mug holds, like, 32 ounces of coffee), some jamming tunes (to start this lovely spring morning has been a lovely mix of Ani DiFranco and Carla Bruni, just to keep things international, although I’m thinking of switching to Ladysmith Black Mumbazo for the Adichie novel) and my favorite ‘look at how young and attractive I am before I aged horribly’ bookmark of W.H. Auden. I’ve also got a tupperware container full of my mom’s famous cranberry-almond biscotti that she made special for the read-a-thon just waiting for when I get a wee bit more than a wee bit peckish! Without all of this, though, reading just wouldn’t be nearly as much fun (or at least, wouldn’t last as long, that’s for sure!)

Mini-Challenge 2: And The Nominees Are…

I LOVE THIS MINI CHALLENGE! For a number of reasons: 1) I love lists. 2) I love nominating people for things. 3) I love pretending I could award things to the characters in books. So here it goes (although it’s ridiculous just how much thought my Type-A personality put in to something like this!)

Favorite Female Character in a book: Jo March, Little Women
Favorite Male Character in a book: Henry DeTamble, The Time-Traveller’s Wife
Favorite Side Kick in a book: Tock, The Phantom Tollbooth
Favorite Couple in a Book: Henry and Claire DeTamble, The Time-Traveller’s Wife
Favorite Book Series: The Ender and Bean books by Orson Scott Card
Favorite Author: Chris Abani
Favorite Book Cover: Penguin Classic’s new release of Swann’s Way


Favorite Book of 2009: The Girl who Played with Fire, Steig Larson

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. TheCajunBookLady
    Apr 10, 2010 @ 18:08:29

    YAY for reading! Have a great day! *shakes pompoms*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

