Read-a-thon: Mini Challenge Bonanza 2

Back again for a quick reading break! Here are some more GREAT mini-challenges, and another huge thanks to the hosts of these challenges (as well as all the great cheerleaders out there, too!)

Mini Challenge 3: Book Score/Soundtrack Challenge

Considering that I just finished up Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist by David Levithan and Rachen Cohen, which is, at it’s core, all about music, this challenge is right up my alley this hour! In one of my favorite chapters in the book (ch. 17) , Nick and Norah have just made up after a fight and while Norah is making a phone call, it begins to rain and she turns and is taken aback to see Nick so joyfully standing in the rain. Not dancing, not singing, just standing and enjoying and being ‘present’. It’s a great description and a great scene, and were I to put it to film, I’d accompany it with the following soundtrack:

1.) Small Hands, Ani DiFranco (a wonderful song about accepting things as they are)
2.) Cigarettes and Chocolate Milk, Rufus Wainwright (embrace your vices!)
3.) Have you Ever Seen the Rain, Creedence Clearwater Revival (because if it’s raining, you need a song about rain, right?)

Mini-Challenge 4: #pantyworthy

WHY IS MY DIGITAL CAMERA BROKEN?!!? WHY OH WHY?!?! If it weren’t, rest assured there would be a panytworthy picture of me floating around the internet in no time! Instead, in keeping with the challenge set out by The Book Lady, I give  to you my list of my top 5 (for now) pantyworthy authors and the panties I think  best represent them!

Edgar Allen Poe and Bondage-wear: Because who couldn’t picture the master of Gothic getting down and dirty in a little bit of leather? Plus, you can’t deny – those eyes just beg to call somebody ‘mistress’

Chris Abani and boy shorts: They generally look good on everyone, and let’s be honest – they’re damn sexy, too. Simple, relateable, and incredibly accessible, they still carry across the idea of being sexy without slutty. Abani’s prose does the literary equivalent.

James Baldwin and french-cut panties: Sometimes a bit too much, the french-cut will, in the end, come through when you need them by supporting, covering, and still letting you be who you are, without worrying about how you look. Baldwin seems to struggle to do the same thing, while occasionally missing the mark as the french-cut does. Also, some may see the style as outdated, but those who own a pair really know – true comfort (be it in prose or panties) never goes out of style.

W.H. Auden and the thong: Risque, challenging, sometimes uncomfortable, but always the place to go when you need to hide lines or figure out how to get the guy you’re looking so hard to land. Oh, I’m sorry, I was talking about Auden – what did you need me to say about the panties?

Neil Gaiman and his birthday suit: OH DEAR SWEET GOD I CAN ONLY HOPE BECAUSE JUST LOOK AT HOW ATTRACTIVE THAT MAN IS. Really, this one’s just wishful thinking. Gaiman’s birthday suit…mmm…

Mini-Challenge 5: The Drabble

This awesome challenge comes from Kate over at Midnight Book Girl, and is all about creating a Drabble (a work of fiction of exactly 100 words). Kate’s looking for book-related Drabbles, obvs, so I give the e-world this little masterpiece:

If he kisses me I have to say no. If he tries to hug me, I have to pull away. I won’t let it happen. Neither will they. They’ll say it’s not right, it was never meant to be; that we embody shame, disappointment.

But he has to kiss me, and I him. They say that the sun and the moon are opposing forces, but we both wonder what made it that way. Are they not complimentary? Without the sun, the moon has no light. Without the moon, the sun becomes too overpowering. We kiss and I think – screw Bella.

In case you’ve been COMPLETELY under a rock, yes that is a Twilight drabble, and yes, it is a slash Twlight drabble based on a story I would’ve found much, much more interesting!

Happy reading, I’m back to the -thon!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kailana
    Apr 10, 2010 @ 20:02:32

    lol Entertaining posts!

    Reply

  2. Bookjourney
    Apr 10, 2010 @ 20:46:50

    LOL – great post 🙂 Here to cheer you on! 🙂 Keep up the awesome posts and read away!

    Reply

  3. Rebecca @ The Book Lady's Blog
    Apr 11, 2010 @ 01:29:33

    This is just so fantastic I don’t even have words for it. And you know, I don’t think Edgar would disagree with your pairing. Thanks for playing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

