Mini-Challenge Bonanza 4

Time for yet another round!

Mini-Challenge 9: Early Favorites Mini-Challenge

This challenge is looking for bloggers to post a memory of the first book that they ever LOVED, with that kind of deep love that doesn’t come along too often! And while the first ‘real’ books I ever loved was Little Women by Louisa May Alcott (which those of you who stop by regularly invariably know!), it was not the first book I’d ever felt this way about. That book was this:

The Bunny Book, a Little Golden Book, was one that my grandmother owned and would read to me any time I stayed at her house for the night (and, owing to the fact that we lived a mere 15 minutes from my grandparents, this was something I ended up doing rather frequently). The book was about a little boy bunny who thought about all the things he could be when he grow up but ultimately knew that what he wanted to be was a good daddy, like his daddy was a good daddy to him. I was sappy, sexist, and overwhelmingly patronizing. BUT I LOVED IT, and all I realized at the time was that it was a book that made me feel better when I didn’t have my mom or dad around (I had HUGE separation issues when I was a kid). So it was the first book I ever loved without a shadow of a doubt – I carried it around, chewed on, took baths with it, insisted on multiple readings every night I was there, and stared at the pages for hours and hours, memorizing the illustrations. It’s a book I haven’t seen in ages, though I’m sure it’s still in a drawer somewhere in my grandmother’s house. I haven’t gotten it from her yet, but I know that someday, it’ll finally be mine.

Mini-Challenge 10: The Get The Heck Out of Here Mini-Challenge

Entry is simple: answer the questions, all about what the readers did to get themselves ready for a day of all-day reading!

  1. What steps did you take to ensure you’d be able to read as much as possible today?

The main thing I did was to tell everyone what today was, and what that meant in terms of my being able to talk to/look at/do things for them (i.e. I wouldn’t be able to do most of those things, or at least not for long). The other thing I did was put my cellphone on silent and only checking it once an hour to make sure that no emergencies have happened. I also made sure that had all my snacks made before hand, or were things that didn’t need to be made (i.e. granola, nuts, pudding, cheese) so that my cooking time was reduced to pratically nothing. Add to this the fact that I always had a ready supply of books to switch between, mostly because I was pulling from my own bookshelves.

  1. Of those steps,  which proved to be the most beneficial to your day?

I think of all of this, though, the best move is to talk to the people who you see most and explain to them what it is you’re doing and why you’re doing it. Once that happens, they’re a lot more willing to cooperate, I’ve found!

  1. Is there anything you might do differently next time?

I think that next time I’m going to make sure that I’ve gotten a better plan for meals and things, as most of the time-sucks I face seem to be energy slumps that involve eating for energy and, although I’ve got things made, it’s still taking a bit more of my time than I would like. I also think that next year I’m going to make sure that I have time to get to the library beforehand because, although I love my bookshelves, it can get a little monotonous and some library spice-of-life might be just the ticket!

Thanks again to all of our cheerleaders and challenge hosters, and happy reading to all those still going strong!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle
    Apr 11, 2010 @ 04:24:39

    I loved The Bunny Book, too! Good choice!

    Reply

  2. Literate Housewife
    Apr 11, 2010 @ 04:46:58

    I like how basic communication has served you well today. Thanks so much for participating.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

