Read-a-thon: 5:45 to 10:00

100 pages away from wrapping up The Ruins! I’m telling you, this thing has been the albatross of the -Thon, but, in all honesty, an enjoyable albatross! I keep thinking that being still 100 pages from finishing after 5 hours of reading is just silly, until I remember that I took a break to completely finish The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster. This book was one of my absolute FAVORITES when I was a kid, and re-reading it again just reminded me of exactly why that was (as is always the case with this particular re-read!). The story celebrates the importance of both words and numbers, rhyme and reason, sound, color, and, perhaps most importantly, the fact that learning is something to do every day, and that everything around us is something to be learned from and appreciated! My favorite parts are always the word market scene in Dictionopolis, and the scene with Chroma, the conductor who leads the Orchestra of Color – an ensemble where violins are responsible for navy blue and piccolos handle the bright yellows. It really is a magical book, and is also home to one of my FAVORITE quotes of all time, which I record here for your enjoyment:

“In this box are all the words I know,” he [the king of Dictionopolis] said. “most of them you will never need, some you will use constantly, but with them you may ask all the questions which have never been answered and answer all the questions which have never been asked. All the great books of the past and all the ones yet to come are made with these words. With them there is no obstacle you cannot overcome. All you must learn to do is use them well and in the right places” – p.98-99

I’m determined to finish up The Ruins by the time I call it a night (I’m still not sure when that will be, but right now the plan is just to go with the flow until I just can’t keep them eyes from droopin’) and also make it a decent way through Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood by Rebecca Wells, as well as devouring a Jimmy John’s sandwhich, quite possibly the best delivery sandwich on the face of the planet (greatest thing about a college town is the wide variety of food available just a phone call away!

Hours Read: 15
Pages Read: 929
Books Completed: 3.5 (Of Mice and Men, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, The Phantom Tollbooth, The Ruins (.5))
Cups of Coffee consumed: 4 (and 2 delicious cups of vanilla chai tea!)
Cat-naps taken:
Best Book So Far: The Phantom Tollbooth

Leave a Reply

