TSS: Read-a-thon Wrap-Up

This beautiful Sunday morning has brought me out and about to the streets of Lawrence, a place I absolutely love being in early spring! Add to that a large Brass Monkey from Z’s Coffee (chai tea with espresso shots…literally, the best of both worlds!) and the opportunity to enjoy the company of my great friend Clinton, and you have the makings for an already wonderful day. I brought along my laptop, with the goal of finishing this post, but little else with be besides Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood by Rebecca Wells, a book I’d hoped to read yesterday for the Read-a-thon but just didn’t quite manage to get around to! However, this is perfectly okay, because the books I did get around to I enjoyed immensely! Which seems to me as good a transition as any to being my…

2010 Dewey’s Read-a-thon Wrap Up

As I’ve mentioned before, this year was my first Read-a-thon, and I enjoyed it more than I thought I ever would! I have to admit that during that first two hours or so, when I was still tired and unbelievably grumpy, I was considering just throwing in the towel all together and going back to bed, but I went and hopped on the computer and clicked over to the site for the Read-a-thon and was immediately reminded why I was doing this in the first place – the community building, trying my hardest to get more involved this year, becomes a doer rather than a watcher. And, after that, the reading took off and I never looked back!

Keeping in mind how much I enjoyed it, though, there are still things I would love to do next year to improve the experience. This includes making sure I go to the library before hand so that I’m not ONLY pulling from my own shelves, as well as having more of a solid list of books I’d like to finish during the Read-a-Thon, rather than just meandering around. I’d also like to get out of my apartment more, perhaps to a few coffee shops or book stores downtown, just to mix up the pace. Lastly, I think next year I’m going to try my damndest to get my mother to participate with me (I tried this year, but she just couldn’t reconcile taking a whole day to do nothing but read with her ‘always-have-to-be-getting-things-done’ mindset)! I think she could really use the time to read, even if not for the full 24 hours – which is my last goal for next year, to go the full length of the Read-a-Thon, although I was only about 6 hours short this year!

All in all, I think the reading I did over the Read-a-Thon was good, but not the greatest it could’ve been. I enjoyed all the books I read (especially The Ruins by Scott Smith, which creeped me out enough that this morning I woke up and I swear to God, I could feel something wriggling against my feet and it felt just like plants. Oh my, we’re talking major goosebumps here. I also really, REALLY enjoyed my re-read of The Phantom Toolbooth by Norton Juster, which was, of course, not only quick and easy but fun and inspirational. Leave it to a kids book to remind a slightly embittered 20-something to remember why she’s in college/heading for grad school after all). The other books I read, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohen and David Levithan and Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck were of course wonderful, but somehow didn’t quite stack up to the other two.I also just have to say how much I enjoyed getting to cheer on those few blogs I managed to stop by, as well as give a HUGE BIG MONDO UNIVERSE-SIZED

THANK YOU

To the cheerleaders, mini-challenge hosters, organizers, angels, and readers for making this experience so amazing, not just for me, but for the other 349 people who participated globally yesterday. The community out there is awe-inspiring, and you should all feel proud to be a part of it (I do).

Happy reading, and if you made it the full 24 hours, Happy napping!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. bybee
    Apr 12, 2010 @ 07:32:37

    Your reading for the Readathon looks like fun. I’ve never read “The Phantom Tollbooth”. Some people in my book group were waxing nostalgically about it last time we met.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

