The One Where I Overhaul, Recall, and Basically Rejuvinate a Blog in Much Need of Some CPR

Hello all! That’s right, you read it. This blog is in much need of a revamp. Some fresh air. A little joie de vivres, if you will. I’ve been keeping at the good ole’ Book-Mavening on and off for a great number of years now (you know, relatively) but it’s just never gotten quite off the ground. It’ll come and go in spurts, making for not-exactly-great readership and a not-all-that-tight sense of community with all the other great book bloggers that are out there. But my boyfriend and I recently moved in together in a town thats new to both of us and, while he’s got his Call of Duty (heretofore known as the Beast that Sucks Away Every Shred of my Boyfriends Attention And Sanity) online buddies, I’m getting rather sick and tired of just sitting around, watching him shoot zombies while I watch YET ANOTHER episode of Entourage. And then it struck me that I was sitting on a goldmine of like-minded reading folks who, honestly, want to get to know me as much as I get to know them. I look to people like Andi and Simon and other people I consider big-wigs of this whole book blogging scene, and I can’t help but want to do more than just dip in the perverbial toe here and there. So I’ve begun to set out in earnest (feeling, at least slightly, like Frodo on my way to a much happier version of Mount Doom) towards joining this wonderful community. I’m looking in to getting my own domain, revising the CSS on wordpress, and overhauling things like the blogroll and layout. But I’m also resolving to get more involved. Comment more, visit more, invite others to visit me. We’ll see how this great experiment goes but, I’ve got to be honest, I’m pretty excited for it either way. Hopefully I’ll see you ’round the bend!

-Mav

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amanda
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 14:26:21

    I hope the overhaul works for you. You’ve already got one new reader out of it. 🙂

    Reply

    • Chelsea
      Apr 19, 2011 @ 14:40:20

      And I couldn’t be happier for it, or for you for that matter! Thanks for the encouragement, and keep your fingers crossed!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

