Library Loot, April 18-22

 Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Marg from The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

I was SHOCKED when I went casual shelf browsing at my universitie’s library (I’m stuck reading out of their ‘recreational reading’ section because of some silly fine-clearing issues at the local library *read:: I’ve paid them, they’re just wicked behind on getting accounts updated* which ususally means I’m lucky to leave with a book or two. But yesterday might as well have been manna in the desert for book selections, and I was SO HAPPY to pick up not only books I’ve heard some great things about in the blogosphere, but also some that are so new, they’re still on the shelves at the bookstores!

    

Bossypants by Tina Fey : I mean, come on! Not only has this one been getting press like mad, but I fracking LOVE Tina Fey (like, lesbian crush worthy love)

Crash Into Me by Liz Seccuro: This one just sounded too emotionally important to miss (a woman is confronted years later by the man who raped her, after which she decides to continue to press the charges she tried to press right after the original incident)

      

Enchantment by Orson Scott Card: For the Once Upon a Time V Challenge

Great House by Nicole Krauss: I LOVED The History of Love but have heard just so-so things about this one, so I figured no better way to come to an opinion than to read it myself!

Half the Sky: Turning Oppression in to Opportunity for Women Worldwide by Nicholas D. Kristoff and Sheryl WuDunn: This book not only has endorsements from some of my favorite people/writers (Khaled Hosseini, Fareed Zakaria, Anne Rice, George Clooney) but is trying to bring attention to some of the most challenging and horrible events happening to women worldwide:

sex trafficking and forced prostitution; gender-based violence including honor killings and mass rape; maternal mortality, which needlessly claims one woman a minute.

Needless to say, this book will be a powerful one, and I’m looking forward to learning even more about issues that, as a woman, are near and dear to my heart on a global level. Theres a website, also, that disucsses not only the book, but also the larger forces behind the Half the Sky movement.

And that’s it for the library loot! Thanks so much for stopping by, and don’t forget to go leave your own library loot over at the Mr. Linky!

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 15:19:45

    So lucky to find Bossypants on the shelf. It’s on my to be read list. Enjoy!

    Reply

    • Chelsea
      Apr 20, 2011 @ 15:31:16

      I thought I was lucky, too! Even the guy checking me out was like “woah, I didn’t even know we had this book”. It made me feel like I’d discovered the treasure of the sierra madre…or at least, had discovered it before anyone else! hehe

      Reply

  2. Anna D.
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 16:46:16

    So jealous you got Bossypants! Can’t wait to see what you think of it. (:

    Reply

  3. Claire (The Captive Reader)
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 16:56:41

    I LOVED Enchantment when I read it for last year’s Once Upon a Time Challenge. Loved, loved, loved it!

    Enjoy your loot!

    Reply

  4. Sean the Bookonaut
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 08:52:05

    Bossypants is receiving so much hype that now I am a little bit wary of it 🙂

    Reply

  5. Ash
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 14:44:20

    I’ve almost purchased Half the Sky a million times. Maybe your review will make me get it finally!

    Reply

  6. Christine
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 15:22:20

    Hi Chelsea. 🙂
    Looks like some fun loot. A friend of mine recently read Bossypants and laughed her way through it. Hope it’s just as fun for you!

    I received Enchantment as a gift from a friend last year and have to get to it soon!

    Reply

  7. Angie@By Book or By Crook
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 17:05:02

    A non-fiction lover like me is very intrigued by Crash Into Me. looking forward to your thoughts

    Reply

  8. Chinoiseries
    Apr 25, 2011 @ 10:30:41

    Tina Fey ftw! And also, those two books about women look like great reads too. Hm, Great House… I’m in the camp of negative reviewers, but I know a few fellow bloggers who loved it. You need to go slow with that one, it’s not a book to be read in a day or two. Anyway, have a great week!

    Reply

  9. Tea Norman
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 09:59:56

    I luv libraries. Just happened upon your blog. It’s like a gold mine.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

