BTT: Judgement Day

  CAN you judge a book by its cover?

What a good Booking Through Thursday question! I don’t think that the question is can you judge a book by it’s cover, but should you judge a book by it’s cover. And while I don’t necessarily think that you should, I have to admit that I often do. I’m sorry. I know that the story inside may just be absolutely wonderful, and that maybe I’m missing out on a book that will change my life, but sometimes I just can’t get over how the book looks on the outside. It doesn’t help that I do a lot of my reading in public and while I’d like to, ideally, say that I don’t care what the cover of my book looks like, there are certain times and occasions where I think the cover is either too inappropriate for reading in public (this happens, I find, more when I’m reading gay/lesbian fiction or really gruesome horror novels) or, to be frank, just too embarrassing. What do I consider too embarrassing? Let’s have an example, shall we:

      

I’ve even read two of these books (Pet Sematary and God Emperor of Dune) but I just couldn’t do it with these covers. I couldn’t. Uh-uh, no sir, no way no how! What about you? Will you search out another cover if the one you find is bad? Or will you suck it up and allow Fabio or a very penis-like snake peak out of your purse? Happy reading!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shannon McGee
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 15:50:56

    LOL on Fabio comment!

    Reply

  2. Valentina
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 16:45:15

    LOL, those are some horrific covers.

    Here’s mine:
    http://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2011/04/booking-through-thursday_21.html

    Reply

  3. Sally
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 19:43:07

    Ha those covers are hilarious. I don’t judge a book by it’s cover – I think they are too misleading and are only intended to catch people’s eye. It’s all about the story.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/04/booking-through-thursday-14.html

    Reply

  4. Anna D.
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 20:14:32

    HAHAHA, I LOVE these covers.
    But to answer your question, I am very self-conscious about the covers of my books in public. If it’s embarrassing, and a hardback, I’ll take the dust jacket off and leave it at home. If it’s a paperback… Well, it doesn’t get to leave the house. (:

    Reply

Leave a Reply

