A Dark Tower Read-a-long – WHAT?!

OH. MY. GOODNESS! I’m so excited for this to be happening! Shelf Love is hosting a read-a-long of the epic fantasy series The Dark Tower by Stephen King, and I can’t wait for it to begin! This is my mom’s favorite series of books (behind LOTR because, lets be honest, my moms a huge book dork, a trait she has so lovingly passed on to her daughter) and she’s been begging me to read them for a while. I’ve got the whole series on my Kindle, and I’ve started the first one a couple of times (The Gunslinger) but it’s gotten pushed to the back of the pile by other things (usually school related) a number of times now. But now that there’s going to be a rather fantastic read-a-long, I figure there’s no better time to give them another go. The schedule for the reading is posted below, and click on the picture to link to Shelf’s post (which has more detail) and I hope you decide to join us for the read-a-long! I’ll be back tomorrow for another legit book post, but I just thought I’d swing by really quickly to let you guys know about this awesome event starting in May! Also, I know I was conspicuously absent yesterday, but I wanted to wish you all out there in Blogland a very happy (if belated) Easter! I’ve read some great Easter updates and it sounds like everyone had a wonderful time, so I hope that, whatever you did, you had a good time filled with family, friends, food, and maybe even a book or two!

Here’s the read-a-long schedule:

May: The Gunslinger
June: The Drawing of the Three
July: The Waste Lands
August: Wizard and Glass
September: Wolves of the Calla
October: Song of Susannah
November: The Dark Tower

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kim
    May 08, 2011 @ 21:24:36

    I’m soooo tempted to do this, but I think the schedule is just too fast paced for me. On the other hand, I think this is one of those series in which a support group would be incredibly fun and helpful.

    I’ve read the first book and stopped at the second (see my article here for why ).

    At the very least, I’ll be following along to see how it goes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

