BTT: Coming Soon to a Theatre Near You

If you could see one book turned into the perfect movie–one that would capture everything you love, the characters, the look, the feel, the story–what book would you choose?

What a good question! Also, side note, sorry for the double-posting in the course of a few hours. I was just so excited to share my Library Loot with you all! Anyway, back to our great BTT question…honestly, I don’t think that they make book-movies like they used to. I’m thinking of recent adaptations of some of my favorite books – Harry Potter, The Lord of the Rings, The Golden Compass, etc. – and while they’re not horrible movies, they can’t even begin to hold a candle to the book. And while the movie is rarely better than the book, I do think that older book-based movies do a much better job of coming close. Which is my long way of saying, essentially, that one of my favorite books has already been made in to the perfect movie! Which one, you ask? Well, as they say, a picture is work a thousand words (or, in this case, the past 186 words):

Anyone figured it out yet? How about another…

Still nothing? Alright, one more try…

Yeah, that’s right. As far as I’m concerned, Gone With the Wind is one of the best book-movie combos ever made. And I’ll stand my ground on that! And now, just because I can’t get enough of this picture (seriously. I have two framed prints of it in my house):

Happy Thursday, y’all!

PS: In the interest of full disclosure, the answer to the BTT may have something to do with the fact that GWTW was just put on Netflix a hot minute ago, and I’ve been watching it on loop fairly frequently since then.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary Ann Langan
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 18:23:37

    This is my all time favorite movie also, I agree.

    Stop and see mine and my giveaways:http://tributeboksmama.blogspot.com

    Reply

  2. Faith
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 19:00:48

    I loved Gone With The Wind. Great choice!

    Here’s My BTT

    Reply

  3. Sally
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 19:35:46

    OK I feel quite ashamed that I have neither read the book or seen the movie.
    Maybe I should.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/04/booking-through-thursday-15.html

    Reply

  4. Ash
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 17:10:10

    I want to see this movie but I still haven’t read the book! I started it last summer but never finished it. I think I need to do it as a year long challenge. Maybe in 2012.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

