A Non-Bookish Interlude

As anyone who knows me will tell you, I’m not necessarily the most patriotic of people. I tend to roll me eyes and the 4th of July, and think that country songs celebrating the greatness of our country to twangy guitar chords are often corny and propagandist. I blame this on two things: 1.) being cynical by nature and 2.) being a sociology major. Now, don’t get me wrong. I am SO, SO HAPPY to be an American. To live in a country where my family has enough food, a home, and, as a woman, I don’t live in fear every night of being harmed or discounted simply due to my gender (see: Half the Sky review coming out later this week). And I’m proud and supportive of all of those brave military men and women (and their overwhelmingly brave family members left at home waiting) who are willing to put  their safety and well being on the line so I can continue to have the freedom to be critical of my governments actions. HOWEVER, when my boyfriend and I checked MSN news last night, and saw the news, I was the first person to grab my American flag, put on my “These colors don’t run” t-shirt, and head out to the bar for beers and a good hearty round of “F*uck yeah America!” with Mark’s friends. Because this goes beyond politics. Beyond partisanship. This is truly a blessing for the world, and I couldn’t be more proud of my country because guess what? We got ’em, bitches.

BIN LADEN IS DEAD

Leave a Reply

