…Or Not So Much

Of course. Of course I would set myself a return-to- blog date, meet it, and then fail to return on my promised updates for, like, a week. Only me, y’all. Only me. And this time, I don’t even have an excuse. Since the last update, I’ve worked out a lot, worked a lot, tried to sleep a lot, and spent time catching up with friends and family. All of these are wonderful tasks, they just aren’t exactly conducive to the whole book blogging experience. That and the fact that I haven’t actually finished a book in a while (although I’ve gotten started on quite a few) means, you guessed it, a lack of blogging. But enough with the explaining and excuse making! Lets get back to the real blogging! As promised in my last post, lets have some thought re: The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown, shall we?

So, I love Dan Brown. For serious. As I said in my last post, my brain is torn between knowing that his writing really is utter crap, and being so enthralled with his stories (true or not, I tend to believe they come from some amount of distorted fact; probably owing to the fact that, like, EVERY female member of my family is a conspiracy buff) that I just don’t give a flying frack *bonus points to everyone who got the Battlestar Galactica reference*. This particular installment of Brown’s overwhelming fiction is the third and, as far as I know, final installment in the stories of Robert Langdon, the charming Harvard symbology professor who we also saw in the chart topping Divinci Code and Angels and Demons.

This time, Langdon is hanging out in Washington, returning a package, if I remember correctly, concerning the masonic architecture of DC and all it’s legacies and mysteries and blah blah blah, to his friend Peter Solomon, who is a 33rd degree Mason. And then, of course, because he’s Langdon and this is a Dan Brown Book, all of a sudden a murder occurs that’s directly tied to the masonic architecture and all it’s legacies and mysteries and…yeah. You get the point. Also involved? A completely tattooed man named Mal’akh who severs the hand of Peter Solomon in order to lead him on a wild chase around the Capitol in order to uncover the Masonic pyramid as well as the legendary Lost Word that reveals the pyramid’s secret. And then there is Katherine Solomon, Peter’s younger sister who works in the field of Noetic Science (which, actually, is really really awesome. Perhaps the most awesome part of the book. Click on the link to follow to the real life field of Noetic Science). Begin spoilers here: Needless to say, because it’s a Dan Brown Book and, apparently, Robert Langdon is the smartest man in the universe, they manage to solve the secret of the Masonic pyramid and it’s Lost Word in the, like, 36 hour deadline they’re set. Because, you know, hundreds of other people in thousands of years have tried and failed. But R.L.? He’s got this shit under wraps. And seriously – SERIOUSLY – the Lost Word is the Bible? And it’s buried under the Washington Monument – the capstone of which is a pyramid, of course. Seriously?! Brown almost lost me with this one. End spoilers.

In case I haven’t made it clear enough, I find Dan Brown books to be ridiculous at the same time that they’re ridiculously addicting. The things I loved about this book are the things I love about all Dan Brown books: the legend, the analysis of symbols, the long passages on history and culture that may or may not actually be correct. And, of course, Robert Langdon himself. Because who has two thumbs and a deep desire for a Tom Hanks-looking professor in cords and sweaters with leather elbow patches? THIS GIRL, that’s who! Of course, the things I didn’t like are also remarkably similar – the absolute impossibility of the situations, the choppy dialouge, the fact that the book packages as fact what is most likely 99% fiction and literal bat shit. But, all in all, it was a fun read if nothing else. It was one of the first books I read on my Kindle, and it was foolishly purchased in my first (and so far only!) frenzy of Kindle book buying. It was the perfect distraction from Boyfriend’s new gift of Call of Duty: Black Ops (if you’ve never had to watch hour after hour of your man shooting imaginary video-game villians who are, racistley enough, all from Russia or Cuba, then count yourself lucky. If not? Yeah. I feel ya’.)

I’m currently about a tenth of the way through Siddhartha Mukherjee’s The Emperor of All Maladies:  A Biography of Cancer and about half-way through Welcome to Utopia: Notes from a Small Town by Karen Valby, both of which are literally to-die-for non-fiction that I can’t wait to write about further! Coming up soon? Those other book reviews I promised, a Library Loot, a few general bookish posts, and maybe even a Top-Ten Tuesday or two! Until then…happy reading!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Nymeth
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 09:31:56

    Don’t feel bad – it happens to us all! It sounds like you’ve been using your time well anyway 😛 I actually haven’t finished a book in like ten days either, but due to barely having blogged the past few months I have a backlog to keep me going.

    Looking forward to your thoughts on The Emperor of All Maladies! It sounds fascinating.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

