Who Could Resist: A HayPotts Read Along

Someone beat me to the punch, but there is really no surprise there – it’s time for a Harry Potter Read Along! Rebekka over at Pretty Deadly Reviews is hosting the read-along of all seven books over the next three months or so (two weeks a book means fourteen weeks, to be exact) and while I’m still putting together a post on the Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone – yes, I started it yesterday, and yes, I finished it today – so I thought I’d begin by taking Rebekka up on her first mini-challenge: getting sorted in to my house! So, without further ado, I am officially a……..

You might belong in Hufflepuff,
Where they are just and loyal,
Those patient Hufflepuffs are true
And unafraid of toil

Famous Hufflepuffs include: Professor Sprout, Cedric Diggory, Nymphadora Tonks

The Hufflepuffs are a relatively low-key house when it comes to the Harry Potter world. Other than some tension in the fourth book, caused by the rivalry between Cedric and Harry in the Triwizard Tournament, there really isn’t a lot of rivalry between Hufflepuff and the other houses. I guess I can see this in myself, as I try to be drama free and avoid any major conflict with other people. The house is also, according to the Sorting Hat, the one that takes the kids that don’t necessarily have the firmly defined traits of the other houses. It’s a catch all, and not really necessarily a house we hear a whole lot about, especially in comparison to the other houses.

Yeah…I’m not so sure how I feel about this, to be honest! I mean, yes all the houses are fabulous, and yes it’s an e-quiz, but I still can’t shake the fact that Hufflepuff is supposed to be a place for “a lot o’ duffers”! I always pictured myself more of a Ravenclaw, given how much I like to read and what not, but I’m also not about to go manipulating an e-quiz, so there’s the answer! I can’t wait to keep reading and get in to the later books – my favorite books – and to hopefully see you all there along the ride with my favorite boy wizard. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

