Library Loot: Semptember 26-October 3rd

That’s right, guys! It’s time for me to once again hop in front of that video camera and embarrass myself just long enough to tell you about all the fantastic books I managed to grab on my last trip to the library – and this time, I grabbed a bunch of them! As for the really confusing dates (why is it just no being posted, in other words): I had this all recorded and ready to go and then I remembered that it was BANNED BOOKS WEEK! And I didn’t want to overload you guys with too many multiple posts in a day, and I thought that the books last week really needed the spot light. So I put off posting this little doozy of a video, which I now share with you all! For those of you in who don’t care to sit through the video, or have better things to do with your 18 minutes, I also provided a basic list of titles below the video. In personal news, there is no news: all quiet on the home front here. Happy reading!

**MAJOR FLUB: I called David Small’s graphic memoir Stitch on accident, instead of it’s true title Stitches and then proceeded to rave about it. But I swear – I love the book enough to remember it’s real title!

NEW FICTION

  • The Lantern by Deborah Lawrenson
  • The Brothers Sisters by Patrick DeWitt
  • The Book of Lies: A Novel by Mary Horlock
  • The Angel of Blythe Hall by Darci Hannah
  • The Lover’s Dictionary by David Leviathan
  • The White Woman on the Green Bicycle by Monique Roffey

NEW NON-FICTION

  • Devil’s Ink: Blog from the Basement Office by Jeffery C. Pugh
  • Rereading Women: Thirty Years of Exploring our Literary Traditions by Sandra M. Gilbert

YOUNG ADULT FICTION

  • Summer Boys by Haley Abbott
  • After Summer by Haley Abbott
  • Next Summer by Haley Abbott
  • Be Strong and Curvaceous by Shelley Adina
  • The Fruit of my Lipstick by Shelley Adina
  • Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins (not shown)
  • The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han

ADULT FICTION

  • The Adventures of the Princess and Mr. Whiffle: The Thing Beneath the Bed by Patrick Rothfuss
  • The Bloody Chamber: and Other Adult Tales by Angela Carter
  • Love Medicine by Louise Erdrich
  • The Collector by John Fowles
  • The Island of Dr. Moreau by H.G. Wells
  • Vaclav and Lena by Haley Tanner

REGULAR NON-FICTION

  • Velvet Elvis: A Repainting of the Christian Faith by Rob Bell
  • Homeschooling: A Family’s Journey by Martine and Gregory Millman
  • Secrets of a Buccaneer Scholar: How Self-Education and the Pursuit of Passion can Lead to a Lifetime of Success by James Marcus Bach
  • Homeschooling and the Voyage of Self-Discovery: A Journey of Original Seeking by David H. Albert

So many to choose from, I need your help! Read any of them? Loved them? Hated them? I’ll take any and all advice you have as to where to start!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kailana
    Oct 05, 2011 @ 01:39:36

    Enjoy your new books!

    Reply

  2. Andi (Estella's Revenge)
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 19:04:11

    I hope you looooove The Lantern as much as I did! Great books in your stacks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

