Here We Go Again!

This time, I’m doing it, dang it! I’ve set myself I don’t know how many goals, tried to join I don’t know how many contests and read-a-longs and challenges — all with the hope of reading more Jane Austen! Or, I should truthfully say, reading all that Jane Austen I was supposed to read when I took a class specifically on her works a few years ago: it’s amazing how much you can b.s. in class when you’ve seen the Gwyneth Paltrow Emma and the Emma Thompson Sense and Sensibility about a dozen times each. For whatever reason, though, I just never seem to be able to. It could be for a number of the following reasons:

1.) Reading them again would be admitting to myself and all of you that I really haven’t ever read anything beyond Pride and Prejudice. Which I just did, but still. I don’t really like having to say (or type) it out loud.

2.) I’m not sure I entirely like Austen all that much. Her stories, I love. Her writing? Eh… *every bookish person reading drops dead of a heart attack/shuns me from the League of the Literati)

3.) There are just so many wonderful other books out there!

BUT HERE THIS – I’M TIRED OF IT!!! I’m going to do it! And I’m going to do it with Advent with Austen! In the words of the lovely Yvann from Reading Fueled by Tea, here’s how the whole she-bang works:

So Alex over at The Sleepless Reader had the brilliant idea of reading Sense and Sensibility this year, to celebrate 200 years since its publication. I jumped all over her idea and came up with Advent with Austen, my very first themed reading event! My beautiful co-hosts (Nymeth, Iris on Books, Teadevotee and Alex) and I have agreed on the following rules:

1. Advent with Austen runs for all of Advent, starting on the first Sunday of Advent, 27 Nov (which incidentally, is the earliest that Advent can start – which means that my birthday on 23 Nov is never quite in Advent… I digress) and ending on Christmas Eve. Let’s face it, on Christmas Day we’re all going to be nose-deep in the books our nearest and dearest have bought for us to do any actual blogging.

2. During this time, to participate, you must read or watch Austen-related items. Books and films can be anything: by her, about her (non-fiction), modern reimaginings (e.g. Captain Wentworth’s Diary; Becoming Jane), even Sense & Sensibility & Sea Monsters.

There are points awarded along the following scale for every Austen-esque book read/TV show and/or movie watched, as follows:

(1 book = 1 point, 1 film = 1 point, 1 TV adaptation (much longer than a film) = 2 points, 1 blog post about an Austen-related experience, e.g. visits to Chawton = 1 point)

And the points add up to associate with a different Jane Austen character! I have to say, I think that this idea is totally to-die-for, and it really does allow for the freedom that I think I need if Jane and I are every really going to see eye-to-eye. I’ll probably be shooting for being Captain Wentworth (5-6 points), so that I can give a fair number of the books a read/re-watch a couple of my favorite movies. And, I can’t believe I’m going to say this, but I’m actually really looking forward to spending my Christmas with Jane and all of her lovely readers! Happy reading!

For full info on the Advent, as well as the schedule that Yvonn is proposing, you can find the deets here!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nymeth
    Oct 05, 2011 @ 18:01:58

    yay! So glad you’re joining us 😀

    Reply

  2. Michelle @ 1morechapter
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 00:06:24

    I love Pride and Prejudice, but Persuasion is my favorite. I hope you enjoy your Austen reading!

    Reply

    • Chelsea
      Oct 07, 2011 @ 16:21:41

      Thanks! I’m also in the process of tracking down some other non-fiction ‘companion’ readers to go along with the novels I choose – any suggestions? I’m actually getting more and more excited about it as November approaches (I can’t believe I just said that!)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

