Hitting the Wall

Hello, all you lovely blogger-ites out there. I’d like to begin by saying that I’m sorry if I’ve gotten your hearts all-a-tither by posting, but sadly there is no review for today. This post is to explain why that is – and why I’ve been having such a down week.

Our school usually has fall break on a Thursday/Friday, which means ending on a Wednesday but starting on a Monday, just like normal. It was nice – I liked this setup, as did every other student at my university ever. But this year, the administration decided it was going to be opposite-semester, and we had our fall break on a Monday/Tuesday. Now, this threw me off for ALL of last week. Seriously. I found myself sucked of motivation, concern, and effort. Add to that:

1.) cooler temperatures

2.) a fussy, stomach-sick puppy

3.) my wisdom teeth coming in

and you can see why my past ten days or so haven’t been productive at all. Not that they couldn’t have been – there was still plenty of time for updating and other bloggy things. But that usual ‘pull yourself up by your bootstraps’ mentality that I usually rely on in these situations just wasn’t there and I decided to be nice to myself, not to fight it, and to just give in to a bit of the down-time. I’ve still been doing plenty of reading (R.I.P. VI reviews galore are promised for tomorrow/this weekend) and I’m SUPER, SUPER EXCITED about being a cheerleader on Team Twix!! This means that, for all you lovely read-a-thon readers out there, that I’ll be helping to cheer for letters R-Z, and I’m hoping to meet some absolutely wonderful brand new bloggers over the course of Saturday.

Well, folks, that’s really all there is to it for right now! I have to ask though – does this ever seem to happen to you? I mean, I know everyone gets tired. But it’s more than getting tired. On those days where you’re down, and extra tired and you just can’t find the ‘uumph’ – do you ever just let yourself give up, and admit that sometimes it’s okay to just…not. And to not feel bad about it? I don’t very often, but I’m starting to think that it might be better for my mental health that way! Anyway, happy reading and I hope to catch all of you on the read-a-thon flipside!

PS: I’m EXTREMELY sad that I missed both the Fragile Things and The Lantern read-a-long posts, but I already have thoughts brewing for next week, and can’t wait to jump right back in to those lovely discussions!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anna
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 12:01:16

    I’ve been feeling a little un-bloggy lately, too. Hoping to fix that on Saturday with a slew of read-a-thon posts.
    And yes, it is sometimes OK to “just…not.” You don’t want to force yourself to do something and push yourself so hard that it doesn’t become fun anymore. Breaks are often much needed, and you come back feeling more refreshed then ever. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Kailana
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 13:08:05

    I look forward to your upcoming posts for the read-alongs!

    I hear you on the wisdom teeth. I was hoping I wasn’t going to get them at all because I am a bit old for them, but sadly I think I am. Which means I will probably have to have them out. Not cheerful!

    Reply

  3. Andi (Estella's Revenge)
    Oct 24, 2011 @ 17:03:37

    Sorry you’ve had a rough time. Hope things clear up and you’re feeling better soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

