The Road Goes Ever On, A New Project, and a TTFN

It’s hard to believe, because it’s been one of those things that’s always been less consistent than I wanted it to, but I’ve been blogging for almost five years, come this June. My first ever blog post (made by a high school me who didn’t even know there was a whole world of book bloggers out there, but knew that one of her greatest high school rivals had a book blog and by George! if she could do it then so could I!) was published on my Blogger-hosted blog on June 7th, 2007. Needless to say, for any of you who happen to go back and actually read your old blog posts, reading some of those early entries is an enlightening, awkward, and immature experience. It was the first time that I was putting my ideas about books down in writing an a way that no one was going to grade, and no one was requiring me to do. It was freeing at the time, as it still is today, and it’s nice to have a record of those books I read in late high school all the way through my first year of college. At the time, by blog by-line was

In which a poor college girl fantasizes about nothing but an endless library, a cup of coffee, and a Mr. Darcy to cuddle with.

And while I certainly think that part of that girl is still blogging for those reasons, I’ve come a long way in realizing why it really is that I blog, and what blogging means for me as a reader, a writer, a reviewer and a critical thinker.

Book Maven’s Blog found a new home here at WordPress on December 28th, 2008, and it’s here I’ve been ever since. This blog has seen practically all of my college career, a trip to the Arizona desert, my run-in with facial paralysis a la Bell’s Palsy, my graduation, my engagement, the growth of my niece, and of course all the books that have been with me along the way. It’s been a great, if not always frequent, experience and one that I wouldn’t trade in for the world. This world of book blogging has also brought me in touch with a lot of amazing people, with voices and opinions and tastes that I admire, usually with a sense of humor to boot. I can’t help but give yet another shout-out to Eva, Ana, Danielle, Kit, Amanda, Ash, and most recently Allie, for always providing great recommendations, thoughtful discussions, and just being good blogging role-models! I’m a lurker on quite a few of those sites, and many of them may not have even realized I was there, but they’ve always been there for me just the same.

Wow. Reading back on those first 500 words and you’d think I was dying or some such dramatic nonsense. I didn’t mean for this to sound so much like some kind of blogging goodbye! I’m not leaving blogging, but as I said in my last post, the time has come in my life for me to re-direct and refocus exactly what it is I’m doing with my blog, as well as what it is I want out of my blogging and reading in the near future. After doing such, and taking in to account some recent personal setbacks, I’m proud to present to you, as of tomorrow, my brand new blog baby:

Prescription: Reading

which will be online as of March 1st, 2012! I’ve decided that it’s about time I gave myself over to reading those books that I probably should have already read, seeing as how I’m an English major; those books that I feel as though I need to read, for me; those books that other readers, writers, and educators have returned to over and over again. I’m going to push myself to read through a list of 150 classic novels in the year-and-a-half left before I graduate my master’s program. I know that seems like a lot, and I’m not positive that’s even a goal that can actually be accomplished (I mean, come on, have you SEEN the size of some of those classic novels?!), but it’s a goal I think is important enough to try for! So that’s the purpose of this post: to say TTFN (‘ta-ta for now’, for those of you who’s text lingo is a little rusty) to Book Maven’s Blog, and hello to Prescription: Reading, my new blogging home for the next few years!

I can’t say now whether or not I’ll be back to this blog throughout my time over at Prescription. I’m hoping I’ll be able to fit in some books that aren’t on my classics list as well, and never fear: if I do, I’ll be back over here in a New York minute to let you all know what they are! But, more than anything, I’m really hoping you’ll hop over to the new blog and start joining me on that adventure. It’s one I’m nervous, excited, and looking forward to starting, and I hope to see you there! Either way: happy reading!

Leave a Reply

